René Breitbarth – LWE Podcast 096 (29-08-2011)

Biography of Rene:

Rene first comes into contact with house and techno in his original home city Cologne. It is in the beginning of the 1990s, where the brooding Cologne scene, with clubs like Space and Warehouse, coins Renes musical education. But far more than the DJing, Rene is enthused by the production of music a passion that will stay with him until today. In 1994 he releases his first track on a CD-compilation and two years later he starts to release his tracks on white labels that he distributes in local record shops. Very quickly Rene the sympathetic house purist, becomes an established item within the Cologne techno circus. As a logical consequence Rene starts his own label Treibstoff together with Marcel Janovsky in 1997 and becomes the most featured artist on the label. Until today he has released more than ten EPs as well as two full-length albums on Treibstoff.

With the increase of his level of popularity, Rene starts to establish himself as a sought-after DJ. He gets to know the world and travels all around Europe without loosing focus on his first passion  the production of music. In 2003 his first album Solar  is released on Treibstoff, only one year later With a little Luck his second album  is released. Both albums are hailed by critics and ravers alike: They praise Renes intuitive production methods, his hidden melancholia and his very own construct of minimal techno. Quickly other labels turn their attention to him. He produces remixes on Pokerflat, Plastic City or records for Sub-Static. Also, Rene starts to perform live and keeps on working on new tracks and touching DJ sets.

Renes DJing is very multifaceted. He equally enjoys playing a primetime-set of minimal techno or a seemingly everlasting deep and rolling house set. He doesnt have to decide a fact that is mirrored in his productions, too. He has always done both: minimal tracks on labels like Treibstoff, Sub-Static or Neopren and deep, hypnotic house grooves on Spectral and Dessous. With the launch of his own digital label Deep Data, Rene Breibarth is planning to create a platform for his passion of deep house later in 2008. The label will at first only release Renes groovy house tracks inspired by endless sets at the Club der Visionre. Deep Data Vinyl releases follow in 2009.

To call Rene a euphoric melancholic would not be wrong. He is that kind of person that reflects about music, but rather produces and presents it. And he does that in many different ways: in the form of a live-act, a two-hour peaktime-set or a 15-hour-long Deep House set at Club der Visionre. His home is Berlin and the wide world of electronic music. His habitat, however, cannot be determined by geographic variables. It is located somewhere beautiful  somewhere in the middle, between house and techno.

Artist: René Breitbarth 
Tittle: LWE Podcast 096 
Rls date: 29-08-2011
Source: WEB
Genre: Minimal Tech
Type: Set


01. Kotelett & Zadak, “Evoking” [Rotary Cocktail Recordings]
02. Red Axes, “The Tower” [Klasse Recordings]
03. V.Sexion, “Dom Dom” (Ezequiel Sanchez Remix) [Flumo Recordings]
04. Shunsuke Akimoto, “Four Seasons” [TWO.BIRDS]
05. Christopher Rau, “Like Yesterday” [Smallville Records]
06. Pigon, “Painting The Tape” [Dial]
07. Javier Alemany, “La Nuit” [TWO.BIRDS]
08. Matty Heilbronn, “Funky Shit” (Martin Buttrich Remix) [Peppermint Jam]
09. René Breitbarth, “Mystics” [Deep Data]
10. Pigon, “Sunrise Industry” [Dial]
11. Room 10, “Codis” (Michael Ho Remix) [Snubb Records]
12. Motor City Drum Ensemble, “L.O.V.E.” (Kyle Hall Remix) [!K7]

direct Download :…Breitbarth.mp3…Breitbarth.mp3
Get LWEPodcast96ReneBreitbarth.mp3 on

Posted in