Global Communication’s Tom Middleton reveals new solo project GCOM, with debut album, ‘E2-XO’.

Global Communication’s Tom Middleton is fixated on the future, in more than one way. Now, with his new alias, GCOMwich is the 21st century redesign of his original Global Communication concept and collaboration with Mark Pritchard, announced his debut album titled ‘E2-XO‘ due out Oct 29th in Vinyl, Disc and Digital formats via !K7 records. This album represents “some of the most advanced music I’ve ever made, both in sound and concept.” said Tom.

Its surfaces and depths glitter with complexity and strangeness borne of desire to see dance music move on from its introspective and retrospective tendencies – a desire, in Tom’s words, to “use the best available technology to achieve sounds that are truly alien”. And it is futuristic in inspiration too: everything about its aesthetic and ideas is built around a sense that humanity not only has a future but could – must – have a future off the planet Earth. Editor words: An album that is worth the wait for.- Stay tuned, full details below.

GCOM, Photo by Paul Nicholson

Pre order Vinyl, Disc. Bandcamp

Global Communication’s Tom Middleton announces new solo project GCOM, with debut album ‘E2-XO’ out on Oct 29th via !K7. Galactic Communication: the 21st-century solo recalibration of the Global Communication concept and collaboration with Mark Pritchard.
GCOM follows the reissue of Global Communication ambient masterpiece ’76:14′ via Warp last year.

Signifying a technological, creative and philosophical evolution into the new era; through Tom’s study of neuroscience and music psychology, fascination with exoplanet exploration, astrophysics and cosmology, and interest in anthropogenic climate change and planetary stewardship; a discussion for the need of cultivating deeper human and planetary empathy if we are to evolve in consciousness to travel beyond ourselves in mind and soul, and outside the solar system in body.

First single ‘XO 4 (Wolf 1061c)‘ is out (Listen below) — the soundtrack of an exploratory drone cube from Earth arrives at an exoplanet candidate to observe a territorial battle between two rival alien species.

XO 4 (Wolf 1061c)‘ single also features a Qebrus remix (Listen below) — tragically Thomas Denis AKA Qebrus passed away in February 2018. This ‘E2-XO’ album is also a tribute to him. Tom discovered his work around 2015 and in conversation with Richard (Aphex) agreed on his peerless ability to sonically articulate the unknown, alien, otherworldly and multidimensional.

‘E2-XO’ album is some of the most advanced music Tom Middleton has ever made, both in sound and concept. A decade in the making, inspired by themes surrounding Anthropocene humankind’s impact on climate, conscious AI, acceleration for interplanetary travel to habitable exoplanets, the hunt for Earth 2.0.

Superhabitable Exoplanets’ environmental conditions could be even better than ours. — Tom Middleton

The themes of the original Global Communication album are developed for current times with familiar leitmotifs about human empathy, education and inspiration framed within the technology, ideas and channels that Tom can now use to deliver entirely new perceptual and cognitive experiences way beyond the dancefloor, for musical art informed by science.

‘E2-XO’ album is an audio movie, a space opera, a psychic investigation of the human mind in space, a demonstration of – in the words of the great Alvin Toffler – “the habit of anticipation”, a journey from Earth to a habitable exoplanet, a fully immersive experience.

I began exploring alien sonic textures and sound design in 2011, avoiding as many of the perennial cliches as possible such as known drum machines and synths. Three of the tracks ONLY use a flute as the sound source, nothing else – eg Ocean Dreams.

Previously Tom interest in sleep science led him into helping people with sleep problems using brainwave entertainment. He is currently enrolled on a Neuroscience and Psychology Masters program at Goldsmiths College to research in supporting human problems like anxiety, stress, sleep disruption and human performance using sound.
Dr Lucy Rhoades worked on the original Global Communication manifesto back in ‘94 and has now authored a short story narrating ‘E2-XO’ album journey from the perspective of conscious AI. Paul Nicholson (GC’s regular design partner who also created the iconic Aphex Twin logo) worked on ‘E2-XO’ artwork and packaging for E2-XO. The album lets you hear echoes of Vangelis and Tomita, through Tom’s white heat of discovery alongside Richard D James, Matthew Herbert and friends, right through to his collaborations with technological innovators today: E2-XO acknowledges the past envisioning the future.

Follow the journey of the M-RAI exoplanet probe cubes and the LONO Ark Starship filled with sleeping human settlers to Teegarden B, currently the closest exoplanet with the highest ESI (Earth Similarity Index). What might these journeys sound like? How would these worlds feel? What alien lifeforms and scenarios might be encountered?

Artist. GCOM
Title. E2-XO
Label. !K7
Release date: October 29, 2021
Format. Disc, Vinyl, Digital.


  1. Noctis Ultimus (Epic Mix)
  2. XO Transmission #1
  3. Anthropocene
  4. Ocean Dreams
  5. The Last Rains (V Mix)
  6. Starship Launch
  7. Beyond the Singularity
  8. Helix Nebula
  9. Noctis Reprise (For QEBRUS)
  10. XO 1 (Lutyen b)
  11. XO 2 (Kapteyn b)
  12. XO Transmission #2
  13. XO 4 (Wolf 1061c) 07:55
  14. XO 5 (TOI – 700d)
  15. XO 6 (LHS1140B)
  16. XO Transmission #3
  17. Planet B Awakening
  18. XO 7 (Teegarden b)
  19. Midnight Shore
  20. Beyond the Milky Way

Tracklist. (Vinyl)

  1. Noctis Ultimus (Beat mix)
  2. Anthropocene
  3. XO Transmission #1
  4. Ocean Dreams
  5. The Last Rains
  6. Starship Launch
  7. Noctis Ultimus
  8. Beyond the Singularity
  9. Nebula Fly Pass
  10. Noctis Reprise (For QEBRUS)
  11. XO 1 (Luyten b)
  12. XO 2 (Kapteyn b)
  13. XO Transmission #2
  14. XO 4 (Wolf 1061c)
  15. XO Transmission #3
  16. XO 6 (LHS1723 b)
  17. XO Transmission #4
  18. Alpha Centauri System
  19. First step onto Proxima B
  20. Midnight Shore


Written and composed by Tom Middleton
Artwork by Paul Nicholson
Mastered by Stardelta
K7347 — all rights reserved
℗ & © !K7 Records 2021

Posted in

Leave a comment