Orphx presents ‘Primordial State’ featuring live recordings from 1994-1995.

Pre order: Bandcamp

Stay tuned, because this month (July, 2021), Ekstasis, a platform for experimental and electronic music based in Canada, is presenting a new release by one of the most highly respected acts in both techno and industrial circles, Orphx (Rich Oddie and Christina Sealey). This duo is characterized for bringing on in their acts a catalogue that stretches across industrial, ambient, and techno… their recent output has demonstrated that they both are pioneers and innovators in the fusion of rhythm and noise.

The new release is a 16-track album entitled ‘Primordial State‘, which is basically a collection of live recordings from the early days of Orphx, bridging the gap between the free form noisecapes of our first tapes and the layered rhythmic compositions of the Fragmentation album. Sixteen live tracks have been edited into a continuous mix, recreating the ritualistic, dreamlike atmosphere of these early performances. This will be available digitally and as a limited edition cassette.

Edited into a continuous mix, Primordial State conjures the ritualistic, dreamlike atmosphere of early Orphx performances and shows how studio material was developed and mutated through live improvisation, including the nascent forms of compositions that would later appear on the Fragmentation album (re-released as an expanded box set on Hospital Productions in 2020). Now available on C60 released by Ekstasis.

Cover Artwork.

Label: Ekstasis
Artist: Orphx
Title: Primordial State (Live Archives 1994-1995)
Format: Album
Release Format: Cassette
Release Date: July 23rd, 2021
Cat. No. ES02
Distribution: Juno, Readymade, Triple Vision
Domain: orphx.bandcamp.com/album/primordial-state


01. Veil of Dream
02. Morbid Desire
03. Dead City Broadcast
04. Final Exit
05. Excruciate
06. Juliette
07. Spirits Rising
08. EEG Measurements
09. Samsara
10. Cellular Resonance
11. Lysis
12. Moral Decay
13. Ekstasis
14. Sparagmos
15. Life After Live
16. Primordial State

Thank you for visiting Living Techno, don't forget to subscribe!



Posted in

Leave a comment