Maceo Plex is finally revealing full details of his retrospective album under the Mariel Ito alias on R&S.

Hello people, im getting in touch today to announce that Eric Estornel aka Maceo Plex is finally revealing full details of his retrospective album under the Mariel Ito alias on R&S. Following his come back earlier this year with an EP on his Lone Romantic imprint \’2e Komst’ and tracks that featured on his fabric CD-mix, Estornel will release a collection of tracks produced in the early 2000s -when he released on Modern Love and SCSI-AV- entitled ‘2000-2005’, out October 26th on the legendary label. The album unveils the genesis of Estornel’s electro moniker and its connection with his Cuban roots. 

Since the relaunch of Mariel Ito, Estornel has shaped his Lone Romantic imprint with several EPs by fresh and established electro artists like Carl Finlow, Lord of The Isles, Orbe or Vectorvision. Mariel Ito has performed sets this year at key festivals like Dekmantel or Primavera Sound and will be playing for Audio Obscura at Amsterdam’s Central Station during ADE.

Overview: R&S proudly presents a retrospective round up of Mariel Ito AKA Eric Estornel’s futuristic yet heartfelt electro.
An early alias of the Cuban Miami born Eric Estornel the Mariel Ito trademark driving percussion, deep pads and hypnotic arrangements saw releases on iconic imprints like Modern Love, and SCSI-AV at the turn of the century before being put into hibernation from 2006 onwards.
Estornel on the genesis of the project: “When i was 3 years old, Miami suddenly became flooded with refugees from Cuba called the Mariel Boatlift. There was a huge crime wave and cubans that had been in Miami for years would call the “bad” refugees Marielitos. I was a problematic and hyperactive kid constantly getting into trouble, and eventually my teachers began calling me el Marielito.” 

Fast forward to 2000, while thinking of a new name for this project Eric settled on Mariel ito as a nod to the Cuban community. “Usually only Miami Cubans understand the pun” he adds.
Electro had always been a popular sound in Miami during Eric’s formative years there, he gravitated towards its futurism as well as the its emphasis on sound design, synth work and beat programming. His natural facility for emotive melodies and irrestistable grooves are immediately evident in the ten tracks on this release. Composed between 2000 and 2005 the music takes cues from the iconic IDM and electro sounds of the mid / late 90s putting a new twist on broken beats and synthetics, artists such as Aphex Twin, Gescom, Bitstream, Gimmick, Pendle Coven, the pioneering Sheffield bleep sound and of course, a certain infamous Belgian imprint.
“R&S helped sculpt my taste growing up in the 90s. So many seminal records came out back then that were really ahead of their time. There’s obvious picks like Selected Ambient Works and Energy Flash, but I was even more inspired by the works of David Morley, CJ Bolland, Source and the rest.”
This release underlines the welcome reactivation of the Mariel Ito project from hibernation, with Estornel’s full creative commitment moving forward; “Friends have been asking me for years why I ever abandoned it in the first place, and would egg me on to relaunch it. Last year when I decided I would not continue doing my Mosaic party in ibiza, I knew I would have more time to finally relaunch it and began writing new material. Thanks to R&S i can now release the music i was making back then in the form of a retrospective album and start up again where I left off.”

Artist. Mariel Ito
Title. 2000 – 2005
Release date. 26-10-2018
Label. R&S Records 
CAT#. RS1811
Format. 2×12’’ // Digital download

Track List.

A1 / 1. Kepler 186b 

A2 / 2. Approach 
A3 / 3. 99 Tricks 
B1 / 4. Lovely 
B2 / 5. Sad Piano 
C1 / 6. Creature 
C2 / 7. Portal Mover 
C3 / 8. Process 7 
D1 / 9. Xten D2 / 
      10. The Fallen

All tracks written & produced by Eric Estornel between 2000-2005 
℗ & © R&S Records 2018 Cat. No. RS1811 – all rights reserved. 

Thank you for visiting Living Techno, don't forget to subscribe!



Posted in

Leave a comment