Joaquin Ruiz returns to Norway’s PLOINK label with new LP titled ‘Voices Of Space’, featuring ten ethereal techno tracks.

Last month we were talking about Joaquin Ruiz and his release ‘Phase EP’ on Signal Rec that really impressed. And now, he returns to Norway’s PLOINK label with his debut album titled ‘Voices Of Space’, featuring ten ethereal tracks.

Buenos Aires-based producer has continually challenged the senses with twisted releases on labels like Blackrod, Affekt and Hardtools, which have garnered support from Ben Klock, Marcel Dettmann, Ben Sims, and Dax J. He now returns to Thomas Urv and Miss Mostly’s Bergen-based techno label for his most impressive body of work yet.
Voices Of Space’ opens with an enticing stereo landscape, lush with bubbling samples and subtle percussion, ‘Hypnotic Alert’ moves by upping the energy with tight kicks and eerie synths when ‘Mantrack’ then finalises the A-side with soft keys and distant melodic flurries. On the flip, ‘Nuclear Substance’ kick starts with propulsive drums and chiming tubular-like sounds until ‘Altered System’ adds in cantering sub-frequencies and rapid snares, providing a cavernous feel to the mix.
Next, ‘Genesick’ gives a sense of spatial progression with fleeting plucks and white noise before ‘Reset’ initiates a more club-focused shift with acid stabs, field recordings and splashing cymbals. ‘Satellite’ readjusts the aural journey with casting pads and computerised bleeps that lead to the harrowing rhythms and celestial chords of ‘Challenged’, ahead of ‘Times’ that beautifully concludes the album with sharp risers, zappy effects and low-swung beats.
PLOINK will release ‘Voices Of Space’ LP in Digital & Vinyl formats on 28th August 2020.
Cover Artwork.
Artist: Joaquin Ruiz
Title: Voices Of Space LP
Release date: 28th August 2020
Cat No: PL027NK
Format: Vinyl & Digital
A1 – Voices Of Space
A2 – Hypnotic Alert
A3 – Mantrack
B1 – Nuclear Substance
B2 – Altered System
C1 – Genesick
C2 – Reset
C3 – Satellite
D1 – Challenged
D2 – Times

Thank you for visiting Living Techno, don't forget to subscribe!



Posted in

Leave a comment